What is current best practice to implement watched directory?

I am new to Libretime, but have been working to implement it at our station. We used to run on Airtime, and had an extensive system for automating file ingestion using watched directories. As a work-around in Libretime, I have been replacing files in /srv/airtime/stor/imported///*/ with the updated versions of the mp3s, retaining the constant filenames. The result is that older files are being played out, not the current file that is resident in the above named directory. Old file is being cached somewhere. I saw reference to this in a thread here from late March, early April, but I do not know the current situation, or how I might best approach getting the file automation put together. Any explanations or suggestions will be most welcome.

2 Likes

Kia ora. We were in the same scenario as you, and so I’ve continued the work on the old watch folder feature so that we could migrate from Airtime to LibreTime. We hit “go” on the migration during the start of COVID19 as it was an essential strategy for our team to broadcast from home.

Here’s the PR https://github.com/LibreTime/libretime/pull/908. We’ve been running this now 24/7 since the middle of March. It’s almost ready to be merged into the master branch but there are a few things that need to happen. One of the “harder” ones is that there’s a new “type” field for media files and so the watch folder needs to implement that somehow. I’ve been super busy but I’m gonna try and get this PR merged as soon as possible. There are other who really need this feature. In the meantime you can manually merge this PR into your local copy of master… but tbh I’m still using an older fork of the master branch since before the new “type” feature was added.

Sorry I know this isn’t helpful, but your post will motivate me to give this some time.