Question around consecutive djs that are livestreaming

Hello,

I am very new to the LibreTime world, and have a question that I am sure has been asked 100 times before but yet I cannot find a straight up answer to (mostly like as I am do not understand the terminology).

I think it best for me to outline my desired use case:

• DJ #1 authenticates with their own credentials and livestreams from 12am to 2am.
  • DJ #2 authenticates with their own credentials and livestreams from 2am to 4am.

My question is: does DJ #2 have to perfectly time their connection at exactly 2am or can they somehow connect early (without kicking DJ #1 off his stream) then at 2am LibreTime seamlessly transitions from DJ #1 to DJ #2.

Thanks, and sorry for a newb post.

DJ #1 and DJ #2 authenticates with their own credentials at their own time. DJ #2 can connect at anytime after 2am and before 4am. No earlier than 2am. When DJ #1 time is over at 2am, it will disconnect DJ #1 and go to the next show where DJ#2 can connect to.

That’s exactly what I was afraid of… Ideally DJ #1 and #2 would both be connected in parallel (2 streams) and LibreTime would change to the DJ #2 stream at 2am. In this scenario it removes the race to connect as fast as possible once 2am hits, avoiding any “dead air”.

You’re able to monitor when they go off air and a DJ would have to be aware of his time anyways, that’s why the timer is there… so after going off air the Station ID will play on top of the hour and then DJ would come in (you can see when the Station ID is about to end). In my case, DJs would just wait into their intro is over unless they come in right after Station ID if no intro is available. As long everything is timed right, you can have the program manager take care of that (in case they need to add an outro or something to fill in), then none of them are racing to quickly enter at a time, and have no dead air.