"Can not connect to the streaming server 401, Authentication Required (HTTP/1.0)"

I seem to be the first to post about this problem on the forum. It’s the dreaded “Can not connect to the streaming server 401, Authentication Required (HTTP/1.0)” error message in the Output Streams section of Settings. Been wracking my brain the last couple hours with what seems like should be a simple issue.

Just did a clean install by following LibreTime Tutorial: How to install LibreTime. This is on an internal test server with with no DNS, so the IP address is being used in lieu of a domain.

icecast.xml has all three custom passwords (for source, relay and analytics admin) in place. I have no experience with LiquidSoap, so I’m unsure if any manual tweaking needs to take place with that?

The Icecast2 server is up and running but I see no mount point listed.

So, first question: Is the error referring to the relay or the admin login? Or is it something else entirely?

It looks to not be able to connect to the initial icecast login. I’m guessing you’ve updated the admin-password via the icecast.xml file? Did you give the service a restart after that?

service icecast2 restart

Alright, slightly confused and dazed…

I knew of the service icecast2 start and service icecast2 stop commands (which both have worked in the past) but not service icecast2 restart. So I just tried the restart option and here’s what returned:

Job for icecast2.service failed because the control process exited with error code.
See "systemctl status icecast2.service" and "journalctl -xe" for details.

So I thought, ooh! This is a new message!

But just as a sanity check, I attempted stop then start again, and instead of working, the same error message returned. I swear it’s worked before. I swear it! Or maybe I’m confusing it with another service. I question my sanity still.

Anyways, I checked systemctl status icecast2.service and here’s what returned: