# Upgrading Libretime with original install directory deleted

**URL:** <https://discourse.libretime.org/t/upgrading-libretime-with-original-install-directory-deleted/99>\
**Category:** Get Help\
**Created:** [February 19, 2018, 12:07am UTC](https://discourse.libretime.org/t/upgrading-libretime-with-original-install-directory-deleted/99 "2018-02-19T00:07:45Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 8\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![JoaoHerberto](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/j/8edcca/32.png) [@JoaoHerberto](https://discourse.libretime.org/u/JoaoHerberto)\
**Post date:** [February 19, 2018, 12:07am UTC](https://discourse.libretime.org/t/upgrading-libretime-with-original-install-directory-deleted/99/1 "2018-02-19T00:07:45Z")

</div>

I have a question on upgrading Libretime from 3.0.0-alpha.3 to 3.0.0-alpha.4. I deleted the original install directory, which was a pull from Git. According to the Release notes [Here](https://github.com/LibreTime/libretime/releases) I need to do a pull and run the “.install” script. What do I do if I no longer have the original install directory?

Note to self… DON"T DELETE THE ORIGINAL INSTALL DIRECTORY

Thank you in advance!

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![robbt](https://yyz2.discourse-cdn.com/flex036/user_avatar/discourse.libretime.org/robbt/32/15_2.png) [@robbt](https://discourse.libretime.org/u/robbt)\
**Post date:** [February 19, 2018, 2:40am UTC](https://discourse.libretime.org/t/upgrading-libretime-with-original-install-directory-deleted/99/2 "2018-02-19T02:40:56Z")

</div>

I think that when you pull the latest alpha.4 it will recreate the install directory etc.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![JoaoHerberto](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/j/8edcca/32.png) [@JoaoHerberto](https://discourse.libretime.org/u/JoaoHerberto)\
**Post date:** [February 19, 2018, 2:56am UTC](https://discourse.libretime.org/t/upgrading-libretime-with-original-install-directory-deleted/99/3 "2018-02-19T02:56:35Z")

</div>

robbt, I am actually in the middle of upgrading Libretime, but after I ran through the setup but it already says there is a database setup? How do I get rid of the setup screen to see if everything is working?

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![robbt](https://yyz2.discourse-cdn.com/flex036/user_avatar/discourse.libretime.org/robbt/32/15_2.png) [@robbt](https://discourse.libretime.org/u/robbt)\
**Post date:** [February 19, 2018, 3:00am UTC](https://discourse.libretime.org/t/upgrading-libretime-with-original-install-directory-deleted/99/4 "2018-02-19T03:00:35Z")

</div>

I don’t know for sure. Do you still have /etc/airtime/airtime.conf ?  
I think this is the file it uses to check to see if it needs to run the install screen or not.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![JoaoHerberto](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/j/8edcca/32.png) [@JoaoHerberto](https://discourse.libretime.org/u/JoaoHerberto)\
**Post date:** [February 19, 2018, 3:34am UTC](https://discourse.libretime.org/t/upgrading-libretime-with-original-install-directory-deleted/99/5 "2018-02-19T03:34:57Z")

</div>

No, the installer deleted the old config file, I am restoring the server back from image, I will backup that file and use it as a guide. I think this is why it says to use the original install directory and to update it and re-run the installer. It thinks it’s a fresh install.

Will keep you updated… Love learning the hard way, but thank God for Droplet snapshots!

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![robbt](https://yyz2.discourse-cdn.com/flex036/user_avatar/discourse.libretime.org/robbt/32/15_2.png) [@robbt](https://discourse.libretime.org/u/robbt)\
**Post date:** [February 19, 2018, 3:42am UTC](https://discourse.libretime.org/t/upgrading-libretime-with-original-install-directory-deleted/99/6 "2018-02-19T03:42:32Z")

</div>

Yeah to be honest I haven’t updated my server with some of the latest versions because I don’t trust our install file to do the right thing. For instance our install file should not overwrite or delete an existing config file but I don’t doubt that it did. At the very least it should backup the file. But this is one more thing for us to work on and there are quite a bit of things that could use attention.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![JoaoHerberto](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/j/8edcca/32.png) [@JoaoHerberto](https://discourse.libretime.org/u/JoaoHerberto)\
**Post date:** [February 19, 2018, 4:06am UTC](https://discourse.libretime.org/t/upgrading-libretime-with-original-install-directory-deleted/99/7 "2018-02-19T04:06:06Z")

</div>

Well, let me be your guinea pig!  
So here is what appears to be happening so far… I run through the installer from a user account, not root, using sudo.  
I answer to to all of the defaults, when it gets to PostgreSQL it says a user already exists, doesn’t tell me if it did anything, I am assuming it did not. I am also not sure if I should answer “Yes” to Apache, since it already is there, etc. So, I am now going to try to answer NO to the default questions and see what happens!  
Restoring snapshot now.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![JoaoHerberto](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/j/8edcca/32.png) [@JoaoHerberto](https://discourse.libretime.org/u/JoaoHerberto)\
**Post date:** [February 19, 2018, 4:26am UTC](https://discourse.libretime.org/t/upgrading-libretime-with-original-install-directory-deleted/99/8 "2018-02-19T04:26:56Z")

</div>

OK… so going through the installer script again and answering “NO” to everything, still causes the conf file to get deleted. I copied the original airtime.conf file to /etc/airtime and all I get is a white screen. I restarted the following services:  
invoke-rc.d airtime-media-monitor.service restart

```
sudo invoke-rc.d rabbitmq-server restart

sudo invoke-rc.d apache2 restart

sudo invoke-rc.d airtime-analyzer restart

sudo invoke-rc.d airtime-playout restart

sudo invoke-rc.d airtime-liquidsoap restart

```

Nothing changes, and I cannot get passed the initial login screen because it says the user name and/or password does not match.

At this point upgrading is just not working. Now, to boot, I have a problem uploading files that started after DigitalOcean upgraded their dropplets, they increased the disk size for free, but now I can’t upload files, says error, but the file is uploaded! Also, navigating to settings/status I get an “oops” page.

Any ideas on this one?
